Upgrading or Downgrading your Service
Upgrades / Downgrades cannot be initiated for a service that have an outstanding unpaid invoice.
A service can be upgraded or downgraded depending on the price difference of your current and new service.
Initiate an Upgrade / Downgrade Process
- Our support team takes care of upgrading or downgrading your service for you.
- You only need to submit a ticket and mention the plan name that you wish to upgrade/downgrade your existing service to.
- Your service is upgraded on a pro-rated basis.
- Any amount already paid for your current service's billing period goes towards your upgrade.
- The pro-rated amount is calculated as follows:
Old Service Price Per Day * Number of days until next due date = Amount Credited New Service Price Per Day * Number of days until next due date = Amount Debited Total Payable Today = Amount Debited - Amount Credited
- Once you confirm that you wish to proceed with the upgrade, an upgrade invoice is generated according to the formulae given above and you are notified about the same in the ticket.
- After payment completion, you must notify staff about the same in the ticket. Then, the migration process begins.
- Your service is downgraded on a pro-rated basis.
- Any excess amount that you have already paid for your service in the current billing period is refunded as extra days on your new service.
- After your downgrade request is confirmed in your ticket, the migration process beings.
This process can be skipped if you do not wish to copy the existing data and applications on your old service to your new one. You can mention this in your ticket.
New Service Deployment
- After you have notified staff about payment completion, staff will deploy your new service which will be hidden from you initially. Your old service will still be available for use.
- The traffic consumption on your old and new service will be the same.
- The first pass of data migration will begin which will copy all data from your old service to your new one in a 1:1 fashion. You will be notified about the same in the ticket along with an ETA for the completion of the migration process.
- We recommend not adding a lot of data to your old service after the first pass has started. It will delay the migration process!
- Once the first pass of migration is complete, a seond pass will be started. The second pass will stop all applications on your old service first, then sync data from your old service to your new one, once more. This ensures that data migration is proper and complete.
Application Restoration and Delivery of New Service
- After data migration is complete, staff will use internal scripts to restore all your applications on your new service just as they were on your old service with the exceptions given below.
- Nextcloud, Pydio and MariaDB related applications will not be migrated due to MySQL complications and the way these apps pull and update.
- If you have used our guides to set up Rclone and MergerFS, and you have not changed any paths or filenames. The Rclone and MergerFS service files will be migrated to your new service.
- Custom-built applications will not be migrated and need to be rebuilt.
- Once all applications are restored, staff we hide your old service and make your new service visible. You will be notified in the ticket of the same, and asked to confirm that the migration is successful. You will be given 48 hours to perform this action, after which staff will assume that the migration is successful.
- The old service will be terminated after you have confirmed that the migration is successful.